Christmas Carols

12,90 inkl. Mwst.

Delivery Time: sofort lieferbar

for singing and playing compiled by Hermann Rieth with illustrations by Georg Bildstein

In stock

Description

“Christmas Carols” – carefully compiled by Hermann Rieth and illustrated by Georg Bildstein, opens up a world of Christmas music from England. This collection is aimed at all enthusiasts of traditional instruments such as Hümmelchen, Dudeys, but also recorders and many others. Born out of an enthusiasm for Advent Carol Singing, this work offers a selection of melodies specially adapted for the range of traditional instruments.

The meaning of the Christmas Carols

Christmas carols are an integral part of British folklore and embody a tradition that has its roots partly in pre-Christian times. They symbolize the living connection between historical customs and today’s Christmas season. This collection takes you on a musical journey through the Christmas story, complemented by some of the continental traditions that are still alive in Europe today.

Inspiring encounters with music

Hermann Rieth, himself a passionate bagpipe and gemshorn player, was inspired by the Advent atmosphere of carol singing. The melodies, which play within a simple range, were artfully arranged by him for singing and making music together in “Christmas Carols”. This adaptation makes the pieces ideal for schools and educational institutions to promote the joy of making music.

Variety of instruments

The collection “Christmas Carols” includes a wide range of instruments. Whether for Hümmelchen, Gemshorns, recorders, Cornamuses or Krummhorns – each notation begins with an indication of the optimum pitch. This ensures flexible adaptation to different instrument types and tunings, from soprano in C to alto in F and tenor in C, and enables broad musical participation.

Insights into the Christmas story

Most of the songs tell the well-known Christmas story as told in the Gospels. These songs bring history closer in a way that has been appreciated in many parts of Europe for generations. From “Child in the Manger” and “Holy Christmas on the Living” to traditional customs such as “Wassailing” and “Morris Dancing”, this collection invites you to explore the variety and depth of the Christmas season.

Tradition and renewal

In addition to the songs, the book provides insights into various customs of the British Isles, from “Wassailing” to “Mummers Plays”. These descriptions not only provide cultural context, but also suggestions on how old traditions can be integrated and celebrated today. The challenge of tracing historical paths leads to an exciting examination of the origins and development of Christmas customs.

Songs that connect

With titles such as “We Wish You a Merry Christmas”, “Christ Was Born” and “The Twelve Days of Christmas”, “Christmas Carols” offers a wide selection of songs that invite you to celebrate together. Each carol is an opportunity to share the joy and fellowship of the Christmas season.

The sounds of Christmas: experiencing traditions and instruments together

This collection of Christmas Carols allows traditional instruments to take center stage and explore the festive music of the Christmas season together. It creates a special opportunity to experience the joy of making music with Hümmelchen, bagpipes, recorders and others. Let’s take the opportunity to create the Christmas atmosphere together through the variety of instruments.

Additional information

Weight 0,250 kg
ISBN-13 978-3-927240-95-7
GTIN 9783927240957
Pages 36
Format A4
Produktsprache German

Foreword

This collection was inspired by Advent carol singing among colleagues. For a bagpipe and gemshorn player, it was tempting to transpose the beautiful melodies, which manage with the range of a ninth, and bring them into a two-part form for singing and playing. At the same time, the songs are easy to play with recorders or other instruments and thus form a fund for making music at school. For Hümmelchen, Gemshorns, recorders, Cornamuses and Krummhorns, the pitch of the instruments is noted at the top left of each song: S for soprano in C, A for alto in F or T for tenor in C.

Most of the songs are about the Christmas story as we know it from the Gospels and as it is also alive in the continental tradition.

‘Child in the Manger’: This chorale melody is named after the town of Bunessan in Scotland. The text was originally in Gaelic and known as “Leanabh An Aigh”. It was translated into English by Lachlan Macbean (who gave the tune its name ‘Bunessan’). In 1931, Eleanor Farjeon wrote the lyrics ‘Morning has Broken’ to the melody, which was popularized by the singer Cat Stevens.

Holy Christmas on the Living’ stems from an early Christian culture in the north-west of Scotland, traces of which have survived to the present day. The origin of this song is unclear. But in Alexander Carmichael, Carmina Gadelica, there is a reference to a similar song: “These carols were sung by a band of men who went about from house to house in the townland. The band selected a leader for their singing and for their actions throughout the night. This leader was called fear-duan (song man), and the others were called fir-fuinn (chorusmen). When they had sung their carols at a house, two or three bannocks were handed out to them through a window. The song-man got half of every bannock so received, and the other half went to the chorus-men.”

A rich tradition in the folklore of the British Isles is still alive today at Christmas time. Origins from pre-Christian times continue to be cultivated and in some cases combined with Christian customs. ‘Wassailing’, ‘Mummers Plays’ and ‘Morris Dance’, ‘Hunting the Wren’ and ‘The Boar’s Head’ should be mentioned here. One difficulty with British customs is that people expect to be shown a clear path from our modern to prehistoric times, and in almost all cases there is no such path. So people invent various theories about origins and meanings – most of which are meaningless! Against this background, it becomes understandable that individual practices are lost and, at the same time, others emerge or traditions that were initially unconnected enter into a new liaison. Some of the customs are described in more detail below.

Wassailing is one of the oldest English traditions and has various forms.

One is the ‘House-to-House Christmas Wassail’. Young people went around knocking on doors and singing songs wishing good luck and blessings to everyone they met. In return, they expected a small gift or hospitality. Today, the tradition has become a popular festival in some places and is no longer reserved for the young (e.g. ‘Stroud Wassail’). Another variety is the ‘Orchard Wassail’, which is still cultivated today in apple-growing areas (e.g. Somerset). However, this ceremony does not belong to Christmas, but to the rest of January.

Mari Lwyd’ is the Welsh version of Wassail. The Wassail group visits houses in the neighborhood with a ‘horse’ (consisting of one or two people in a horse costume). People sing outside the front door and sing poems (including a traditional poem from tausch
with the homeowner) asked to enter the house. The house is then blessed for the coming year. As a thank you, visitors receive drinks and
Tidbit.

Morris dancing is a tradition that has survived in a few Gloucestershire villages and was discovered there by the English folklorist Cecil Sharp in 1899. He then collected and notated the dances with the accompanying music – and ensured their wider distribution. In Gloucestershire, the main time for Morris Dancing is at Whitsun. But in the border region of Wales and England, it’s the time for Morris Dancing at Christmas (‘Border Morris’).

Mummers Plays’ have been handed down for centuries. Texts have been preserved, and there are groups of players, some of whom work very traditionally, but also those who play new pieces or incorporate current themes into old pieces.

The presentation of the ‘Boar’s Head’ is an academic ceremony, especially in English colleges. Queen’s College in Oxford is particularly well known for this. The festival around the boar’s head probably goes back to Anglo-Saxon influences, which brought a connection between Freya cults and St. Stephen’s to the British Isles.

‘Hunting the Wren’ is a custom that is particularly popular in Ireland and Wales. It is about the wren, the king of birds, who is hunted and passed around as a lucky charm. The ‘Wren Boys’ are often dressed up in straw, and there are parties in the streets and pubs.

Cutty Wren’: Recorded by the group Steeleye Span on the album ‘Time’. On the cover it says: “The wren is known as the King of the Birds, because there is a fable in which a competition takes place to decide which bird is supreme. It is decided that he that flies highest is the monarch. The wren craftily hitches a ride on the back of the eagle and wins. Also the wren was sacred to the Druids and the custom of catching and killing wrens at Christmas time would not be incompatible with this history of reverence. It would be protected all year and then ritually slain as a sacrifice at the appropriate time. As with all possible remnants of ancient religions, their meaning becomes obscured and their enactment trivialized, and so this song until recently was attached to the Christmas tradition of wassailing and the demanding of monies.”

Holly and Ivy’ are the plants that take center stage in England for Christmas decorations. There is also (according to Bord) the “ubiquitous Christmas tree”, decorated and lit by candles, without which no British child’s Christmas would be complete – a custom that dates back to the late 19th century. was imported from Germany.

My special thanks go to Elke and Achim for patiently trying out the songs, Georg Bildstein for the lovingly painted illustrations and Vincent Eising-Boyny for correcting the sentences. I received valuable tips from Fiona Morrison from Scotland, Gwilym Davis from England and Terry Osborn from Wales – and the logo for ‘Stroud Wassail’ from Steve Rowley, thank you very much. I wish you happy music-making and enjoyment of the old traditions of the British Isles.

Hermann Rieth in summer 2015

Contents

  1. We Wish You a Merry Christmas
  2. Christ Was Born
  3. I Saw a Maiden
  4. I Saw Three Ships
  5. On Christmas Night
  6. Tomorrow Shall Be My Dancing Day
  7. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing
  8. God Rest Ye, Merry Gentlemen
  9. O Little Town of Bethlehem
  10. Child in the Manger
  11. Past Three o’clock
  12. While Shepherds Watched
  13. Winds through the Olive Trees
  14. The Twelve Days of Christmas
  15. Holy Christmas on the Living
  16. Little Jack Horner
  17. Please to See the King
  18. Cutty Wren
  19. Stroud Wassail
  20. Here We Come A-wassailing
  21. The Gower Wassail
  22. Gloucestershire Wassailer’s Song
  23. The Boar’s Head
  24. Board Morries

Author:in

Hermann Rieth

Hermann Rieth had recorder lessons with his mother as a child. Later, recorder lessons and playing became an essential balance during his studies (mathematics and physics for the higher teaching profession) and during his training as a hand weaver. As a crafts teacher, he continued this passion for making music with his pupils.

After getting to know the Hümmelchen and Dudeys, a new intensification began: learning the Dudel sackspiel, attending courses and making lots of music. He soon began organizing the Schwäbisch Hall Sackpfeifertage with a friend. This led to an interest in early music, a preoccupation with old prints and manuscripts, and an extensive collection of pieces for Hümmelchen and Dudey.

My involvement with the repertoire of this magazine began in my school days with the program “Hello Folk”, which Walli Whyton presented for the English soldier radio station. There, the sounds of folk rock and Anglo-Saxon customs could be heard alongside the familiar. Some examples are included here at the end.

Christmas Carols

12,90 inkl. Mwst.

zzgl. Versand
Lieferzeit: sofort lieferbar

zum Singen und Spielen zusammengestellt von Hermann Rieth mit Abbildungen von Georg Bildstein

Vorrätig

ISBN: 978-3-927240-95-7 Artikelnummer: CHC Kategorie: Schlagwörter: ,

Beschreibung

“Christmas Carols” – sorgfältig zusammengestellt von Hermann Rieth und illustriert von Georg Bildstein, öffnet eine Welt weihnachtlicher Musik aus England. Diese Sammlung richtet sich an alle Enthusiasten traditioneller Instrumente wie Hümmelchen, Dudeys, aber auch Blockflöten und viele andere. Entstanden aus der Begeisterung für das adventliche Carol Singing, bietet dieses Werk eine Auswahl an Melodien, die speziell für den Tonumfang traditioneller Instrumente angepasst wurden.

Die Bedeutung der Christmas Carols

Die Christmas Carols sind ein fester Bestandteil der britischen Folklore und verkörpern eine Tradition, die ihre Wurzeln teils in vorchristlicher Zeit hat. Sie symbolisieren die lebendige Verbindung zwischen historischen Bräuchen und der heutigen Weihnachtszeit. Diese Sammlung nimmt Dich mit auf eine musikalische Reise durch die Weihnachtsgeschichte, ergänzt durch einige der kontinentalen Traditionen, die bis heute in Europa lebendig sind.

Inspirierende Begegnungen mit der Musik

Hermann Rieth, selbst passionierter Dudelsack- und Gemshornspieler, ließ sich von der adventlichen Atmosphäre des Carol Singing inspirieren. Die Melodien, die innerhalb eines einfachen Tonumfangs spielen, wurden von ihm kunstvoll für das gemeinsame Singen und Musizieren in “Christmas Carols” arrangiert. Diese Anpassung macht die Stücke ideal für Schulen und Bildungseinrichtungen, um die Freude am Musizieren zu fördern.

Vielfalt der Instrumente

Die Sammlung “Christmas Carols” berücksichtigt eine breite Palette an Instrumenten. Ob für Hümmelchen, Gemshörner, Blockflöten, Cornamusen oder Krummhörner – jede Notation beginnt mit einer Angabe zur optimalen Stimmlage. Dies gewährleistet eine flexible Anpassung an verschiedene Instrumententypen und -stimmungen, von Sopran in C über Alt in F bis hin zu Tenor in C, und ermöglicht eine breite musikalische Teilnahme.

Einblicke in die Weihnachtsgeschichte

Ein Großteil der Lieder erzählt die bekannte Weihnachtsgeschichte, wie sie in den Evangelien überliefert ist. Diese Lieder bringen die Geschichte auf eine Weise nahe, die in vielen Teilen Europas seit Generationen geschätzt wird. Von „Child in the Manger“ über „Holy Christmas on the Living“ bis hin zu traditionellen Bräuchen wie „Wassailing“ und „Morris Dancing“ – diese Sammlung lädt dazu ein, die Vielfalt und Tiefe der Weihnachtszeit zu erkunden.

Tradition und Erneuerung

Neben den Liedern gibt das Buch Einblicke in verschiedene Bräuche der Britischen Inseln, von „Wassailing“ bis „Mummers Plays“. Diese Beschreibungen bieten nicht nur kulturellen Kontext, sondern auch Anregungen, wie alte Traditionen in die heutige Zeit integriert und gefeiert werden können. Die Herausforderung, historische Pfade nachzuzeichnen, führt zu einer spannenden Auseinandersetzung mit der Entstehung und Entwicklung weihnachtlicher Bräuche.

Lieder, die verbinden

Mit Titeln wie „We Wish You a Merry Christmas“, „Christ Was Born“, und „The Twelve Days of Christmas“ bietet “Christmas Carols” eine breite Auswahl an Liedern, die zum gemeinsamen Feiern einladen. Jedes Lied ist eine Gelegenheit, die Freude und Gemeinschaft der Weihnachtszeit zu teilen.

Weihnachtsklänge: Gemeinsam Traditionen und Instrumente erleben

Diese Sammlung von Christmas Carols ermöglicht es, traditionelle Instrumente in den Mittelpunkt zu rücken und die festliche Musik der Weihnachtszeit gemeinsam zu erkunden. Sie schafft eine besondere Gelegenheit, die Freude am Musizieren mit Hümmelchen, Dudelsäcken, Blockflöten und anderen zu erleben. Nutzen wir die Chance, die weihnachtliche Stimmung durch die Vielfalt der Instrumente gemeinschaftlich zu gestalten.

Zusätzliche Informationen

Gewicht 0,250 kg
ISBN-13 978-3-927240-95-7
GTIN 9783927240957
Seiten 36
Format A4
Produktsprache Deutsch

Vorwort

Die vorliegende Sammlung wurde angeregt durch adventliches ‘Carol Singing’ im Kollegen kreis. Für einen Dudelsack- und Gemshornspieler war es verlockend, die schönen Melodien, die mit dem Tonumfang einer None auskommen, zu transponieren und in eine zweistimmige Form zum Singen und Spielen zu bringen. Zugleich sind die Lieder leicht mit Blockflöten oder anderen Instrumenten zu spielen und bilden so einen Fundus für das Musizieren in der Schule. Für Hümmelchen, Gemshörner, Blockflöten, Cornamusen und Krummhörner ist bei jedem Lied am Anfang oben links notiert, in welcher Stimmlage die Instrumente bei den Stimmen stehen können: S für Sopran in C, A für Alt in F oder T für Tenor in C.

Der größte Teil der Lieder hat die Weihnachtsgeschichte zum Inhalt, wie wir sie aus den Evangelien kennen und wie sie auch in der kontinentalen Tradition lebendig ist.

‘Child in the Manger’: Diese Choralmelodie ist nach der Stadt Bunessan in Schottland benannt. Der Text war ur sprünglich gälisch und als “Leanabh An Aigh” bekannt. Er wurde von Lachlan Macbean (welcher der Melodie ihren Namen ‘Bunessan’ gab) ins Englische übersetzt. 1931 dichtete Eleanor Farjeon auf die Melodie den Text ‘Morning has Broken’, welcher durch den Sänger Cat Stevens populär wurde.

‘Holy Christmas on the Living’ entstammt einer frühen christlichen Kultur im Nord-Westen Schottlands, deren Spuren sich bis in die Gegenwart erhalten haben. Die Herkunft dieses Liedes ist unklar. Aber bei Alexander Carmichael, Carmina Gadelica, findet sich zu einem ähnlichen Lied der Hinweis: “These carols were sung by a band of men who went about from house to house in the townland. The band selected a leader for their singing and for their actions throughout the night. This leader was called fear-duan (song man), and the others were called fir-fuinn (chorusmen). When they had sung their carols at a house, two or three bannocks were handed out to them through a window. The song-man got half of every bannock so received, and the other half went to the chorus-men.”

Eine reiche Tradition in der Folklore der Britischen Inseln ist bis heute in der Weih nachts zeit lebendig. Ursprünge aus vor christlicher Zeit werden weiter gepflegt und teilweise mit christlichen Bräuchen verbunden. ‘Wassailing’, ‘Mummers Plays’ und ‘Morris Dance’, ‘Hunting the Wren’ und ‘The Boar’s Head’ seien an dieser Stelle erwähnt. Eine Schwierigkeit mit den britischen Bräuchen ist, dass Menschen erwarten, einen klaren Pfad aufgezeigt zu bekommen von unserer modernen bis zurück in die vorgeschichtliche Zeit, und in nahezu allen Fällen gibt es einen solchen Pfad nicht. Also erfinden die Leute verschieden geartete Theorien über Ursprünge und Bedeutungen – die meisten davon sind bedeutungslos! Vor diesem Hintergrund wird verständlich, daß einzelne Üblichkeiten verloren gehen und zugleich andere neu entstehen oder Traditionen, die zunächst nicht miteinander verbunden waren, eine neue Liaison eingehen. Im Folgenden soll auf einige Bräuche etwas näher eingegangen werden.

‘Wassailing’ ist eine der ältesten englischen Traditionen und hat unterschiedliche Erscheinungsformen.

Die eine ist das ‘House-to-House Christmas Wassail’. Junge Leute zogen umher, klopften an Türen und wünschten mit ihren Liedern Glück und Segen allen Hausbewohnern, die sie antrafen. Im Gegenzug erwarteten sie eine kleine Gabe oder Bewirtung. Heute ist die Tradition mancherorts zu einem Volksfest geworden und nicht mehr nur den Jüngeren vorbehalten (z.B. ‘Stroud Wassail’). Eine andere Variante ist das ‘Orchard Wassail’, das bis heute in den Apfelanbaugebieten (z.B. Somerset) gepflegt wird. Diese Zeremonie gehört aber nicht zu Weihnachten, sondern in den weiteren Verlauf des Januar.

‘Mari Lwyd’ ist die walisische Variante von Wassail. Dabei besucht die Wassail-Gruppe mit einem ‘Pferd’ (bestehend aus einer oder zwei Personen in einem Pferdekostüm) Häuser der Nachbarschaft. Vor der Haustür wird gesungen und mit Gedichten (auch mit einem nach Tradition festgelegten Gedicht aus tausch
mit dem Hausbesitzer) um Eintritt ins Haus gebeten. Das Haus wird dann für das kommende Jahr gesegnet. Als Dank erhalten die Besucher Getränke und
Leckerbissen.

‘Morris Dancing’ ist eine Tradition, die sich in wenigen Dörfern Gloucestershires erhalten hat und dort von dem englischen Volkskundler Cecil Sharp 1899 entdeckt wurde. Er hat dann die Tänze mit der dazu gehörigen Musik gesammelt und notiert – und für ihre weitere Verbreitung gesorgt. In Gloucestershire ist die Hauptzeit für Morris Dancing zu Pfingsten. Aber im Grenzgebiet von Wales und England liegt die Zeit für Morris Dancing zu Weihnachten (‘Border Morris’).

‘Mummers Plays’ sind seit Jahrhunderten überliefert. Es haben sich Texte erhalten, und es gibt Spielergruppen, die zum teil sehr traditionell arbeiten, aber auch solche, die neue Stücke spielen oder aktuelle Themen in alte Stücke einbeziehen.

Die Präsentation des ‘Boar’s Head’ wird als akademische Zeremonie vor allem in den Colleges Englands gepflegt. Besonders bekannt ist dafür das Queen’s College in Oxford. Das Fest um den Eberkopf geht wohl auf angelsächsische Einflüsse zurück, die eine Verbindung von Freyakulten mit St. Stephan auf die britischen Inseln brachten.

‘Hunting the Wren’ ist ein Brauch, der vor allem in Irland und Wales lebendig ist. Es geht um den Zaunkönig, den König der Vögel, der gejagt und als Glücksbringer herumgereicht wird. Die ‘Wren Boys’ sind oft mit Stroh verkleidet, und es gibt Feste in den Straßen und Pubs.

‘Cutty Wren’: Von der Gruppe Steeleye Span auf dem Album ‘Time’ eingespielt. Auf dem Cover heist es: „The wren is known as the King of the Birds, because there is a fable in which a competition takes place to decide which bird is supreme. It is decided that he that flies highest is the monarch. The wren craftily hitches a ride on the back of the eagle and wins. Also the wren was sacred to the Druids and the custom of catching and killing wrens at Christmas time would not be incompatible with this history of reverence. It would be protected all year and then ritually slain as a sacrifice at the appropriate time. As with all possible remnants of ancient religions, their meaning becomes obscured and their enactment trivialized, and so this song until recently was attached to the Christmas tradition of wassailing and the demanding of monies.“

‘Holly and Ivy’ (Ilex und Efeu) sind die Pflanzen, die in England zu weihnachtlicher Dekoration im Vordergrund stehen. Hinzu kommt (nach Bord) der „allgegenwärtige Weihnachtsbaum“, dekoriert und von Kerzen erleuchtet, ohne den für kein britisches Kind Weihnachten vollständig wäre – ein Brauch, der im späten 19. Jh. aus Deutschland eingeführt wurde.

Mein besonderer Dank gilt Elke und Achim für das geduldige Probieren der Lieder, Georg Bildstein für die liebevoll gemalten Illustrationen sowie Vincent Eising-Boyny für das Korrigieren der Sätze. Wertvolle Hinweise bekam ich von Fiona Morrison aus Schottland, Gwilym Davis aus England und Terry Osborn aus Wales – und von Steve Rowley das Logo zu ‘Stroud Wassail’, herzlichen Dank. Ich wünsche frohes Musizieren und Freude bei der Beschäftigung mit den alten Traditionen der Britischen Inseln.

Hermann Rieth im Sommer 2015

Inhalt

  1. We Wish You a Merry Christmas
  2. Christ Was Born
  3. I Saw a Maiden
  4. I Saw Three Ships
  5. On Christmas Night
  6. Tomorrow Shall Be My Dancing Day
  7. Hark! The Herold Angels Sing
  8. God Rest Ye, Merry Gentlemen
  9. O Little Town of Bethlehem
  10. Child in the Manger
  11. Past Three o’clock
  12. While Shepherds Watched
  13. Winds through the Olive Trees
  14. The Twelve Days of Christmas
  15. Holy Christmas on the Living
  16. Little Jack Horner
  17. Please to See the King
  18. Cutty Wren
  19. Stroud Wassail
  20. Here We Come A-wassailing
  21. The Gower Wassail
  22. Gloucestershire Wassailer’s Song
  23. The Boar’s Head
  24. Bord Morries

Autor:in

Hermann Rieth

Hermann Rieth hatte als Kind Blockflötenunterricht bei seiner Mutter. Später wurden Blockflötenunterricht und -spiel ein wesentlicher Ausgleich während des Studiums (Mathematik und Physik für das höhere Lehramt) und der Ausbildungszeit zum Handweber. Als Werklehrer setzte er diese Liebhaberei beim Musizieren mit Schülern fort.

Mit dem Kennenlernen der Hümmelchen und Dudeys begann eine neue Intensivierung: Dudel sackspiel erlernen, Kurse besuchen und viel Musizieren. Bald begann er mit einem Freund die Organisation der Schwäbisch Haller Sackpfeifertage. Dabei entwickelte sich das Interesse für Alte Musik, die Be schäftigung mit alten Drucken und Handschriften, und es entstand eine umfangreiche Sammlung mit Stücken für Hümmelchen und Dudey.

Die Beschäftigung mit dem Repertiore dieses Heftes begann schon zu Schülerzeiten mit der Sendung „Hello Folk“, die Walli Whyton für den englischen Soldatensender moderierte. Dort waren neben Vertrautem Klänge des Folkrock und des angelsächsischen Brauchtums zu hören. Einige Beispiele sind hier zum Schluß aufgenommen.